Forgot Password?
Chat Box
Online Members
Online Guests: 1
Page Counter
Special Operations Forces Tier System/And SOCOM
Capt. WiCked DeadShot 0 Comments · Likes · Like · 3rd Feb 2015
The tier system refers to a classification system for Special Operations Forces. The system originated with the United States Special Operations Command but has been expanded to include Special Forces groups from a range of militaries.

Tier One:
Tier One are Black elements, which are national-level assets that comprise the highest level of a nations Special Operations force. The chain of command for these units bypasses traditional military bureaucracy, and they are directed by the Head of Government / State, top commanding Generals or Defence Ministers or Secretaries. This include things such as the: US Army's Combat Applications Group (Delta Force), the US Navy's DevGru, and the US Air Force's 24th Special Tactics Squadron.

International counterparts include: Canada's Joint Task Force Two, and United Kingdom's Special Air Service. Every Teir One special force is modeled after the British Special Air Service.


Tier Two:
Tier Two can be referred to as Grey Special Operations units, which include US Army Special Forces, US Air force JTAC, US Air Force Pararescue, US Navy SEAL teams, US Navy SWCC teams, MARSOC (Operators rename to Marine Raiders on August 6 of 2014) and US Army's 75th Ranger Regiment.

International counterparts include: the Canadian Special Operations Regiment and the Special Forces Support Group of the United Kingdom.


Tier Three:
Tier Three can be referred to as "White,” and comprise larger infantry support elements. These are not special forces units, but provide broad manpower support when needed for large-scale engagements. Some examples are the US Army's 10th Mountain Division, 82nd Airborne Division, and 101st Airborne Division. Marine corps Recon Battalions, Force Recon Companies, and MEU(SOC). Navy Riverines. Air Force 142d Fighter Wing, 147th Reconnaissance Wing

International counterparts include: Mexican Marines, Royal Marines, Parachute Regiment (UK), and the Royal Canadian Regiment.



The United States Special Operations Command (USSOCOM) is Headquartered at MacDill Air Force Base, Florida and is commanded by a 4-Star General or Flag Officer of the United States Military. It is the Unified Combatant Command charged with overseeing the various Special Operations Commands (SOC or SOCOM) of the Army, Air Force, Navy and Marine Corps of the United States Armed Forces. SOCOM is the main command for SOF which includes tier one and tier two

◾MARSOC "Marine Raiders"
◾USASOC "Green berets", "Night Stalkers" and "Rangers"
◾AFSOC "Pararescue" and JTAC
And other "Grey" Special Operations Units

The Joint Special Operations Command is the component that controls the special mission units (SMU) of USSOCOM. These units perform highly classified activities. JSOC only commands tier one operators.

◾1st Special Forces Operational Detachment-Delta "Delta Force"
◾Naval Special Warfare Development Group (DEVGRU)
◾24th Special Tactics Squadron

RSS Feed